Newest Entry Older Entries Diary Rings Guestbook Etc.

Back in Action
Saturday, Feb. 12, 2005 at 1:53 PM


It seems only fair that I add a real entry after last night's outburst. Things have been going steady, if a little slower than at the beginning of the semester. I skipped a week of reading in my Globalization class that I'd like to go back to once I get a chance. It has nothing to do with my grade, too, I just really enjoy the material. I'm acing Spanish and Classical Mythology, although I've used up all my absences in the former. I've been making a point to keep up with the reading in my Mythology class since I could probably ace it without cracking the book except for when I'm cramming for a test, but I'm enjoying the material and don't want to set a precedence for slacking off.

We had a meeting at work between me, the other student assistant, the secretary and Center Director so we could figure out what everyone else was doing on this semester's projects. It was nice to learn about what was going on with everyone, and I'm especially happy that we got a new secretary a few weeks ago because she seems to know more about the University than the last one did. Overall, I'm getting everything done, but there's been a few details that I've missed. I just got an email from one of the conference speakers reminding me that she had sent me a different title for her talk last week, but in the meantime I'd sent out the first wave of fliers with the wrong one. The important thing is that the real talk get onto the program and official schedule which will come out in the next couple of weeks, but I'm not happy about missing that detail. Basically, I'm way too busy to assure myself that I can do everything perfectly and it's bugging me. I guess I'll just have to go over all my emails more carefully so I don't miss stuff like that.

I'm way overdue on my laundry and I have 400 pages in one book and half of a novel to read by Tuesday night. Plus, I could really stand to go to the gym again. I've been averaging once a week, which is better than nothing, but still not great. I did realize last week that I had lost five pounds but it has more to do with not having much food in the house than exercising, and will probably all come back if I'm not careful. I think once I'm done with this I'll go to Meijer for salad fixings and CVS for a few things rather than try to stay here and read. There's nothing that makes me not want to study than sitting around in my pajamas. It's like I'm waiting for something, either the inspiration to do my work (yeah, right) or maybe just an excuse to leave the house. I refuse to have another weekend like the last one where I do nothing but sit on my ass getting depressed!

Hmmmm, I could also stand to go to Sephora for more haircare stuff, too. That sounds like a nice afternoon!


I'm listening to Beck MP3s that somehow went under my radar, like "Everybody's Gotta Learn Sometime"
I'm reading Black Earth by Andrew Meier
I want Guero

<< >>
Previous:
- - Thursday, Oct. 27, 2005
back yet again - Thursday, Aug. 04, 2005
Batman - Friday, Jun. 17, 2005
Just fucking around today - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
pre-birthday - Saturday, Apr. 30, 2005


Guero

Martini picture by Stormchild
Diaryland