Newest Entry Older Entries Diary Rings Guestbook Etc.

Giddy!
Tuesday, Nov. 11, 2003 at 4:56 p.m.


Hello, friends!

I am no longer drunk and no longer... whatever it was that lead me to write that last entry. There's really nothing like drinking Turkish coffee (from the grounds you bought in the Old City of Jerusalem made in the Cezve you bought at the Grand Bazaar in Istanbul no less) and listening to Istanbul (Not Constantinople) by the Four Lads. Heh! I've decided that I'll pretty much travel anywhere as long as someone else pays for it. Right now I'm crossing my fingers for St. Petersburg this summer through my old poetry teacher in the English Department. I'm not sure if anything will come of it but I did take four years of Russian in high school. They were pretty much wasted since my teacher, the incredibly nice yet flaky person that she was, decided that to make things easier for us she'd teach us one grammatical rule at a time and would go slowly. After years of this we graduated unable to say any particular sentence correctly because she had gone so exceedingly slow that we hadn't covered much. Not that I was complaining since I was able to put "four years of Russian" on my college applications without ever really having to work, and the ratio I've heard is that it takes two years of Russian to learn what you'd normally learn in one of Spanish, French, etc.

But, to go to fucking St. Petersburg! I hope it will work out, mostly that the Office of Global Education offers to pay for it and Chris gets enough students interested. Although, if it does get paid for I can't imagine how that would be a problem.

(On a side note, I just brewed a second cup of Turkish coffee and have achieved foam! This is a big deal for how good it will taste. Holy shit! This stuff tastes good; I'll have to remember what I did.)

I've decided that I'm only going to take one class next semester (ENG 5880 Fiction Writing Workshop here I come!) and possibly get a second part-time job. At the very least I need another source of income. There's been a poster up in the Linguistics Department (one that miraculously appeared without my putting it there) from someone looking for an editor for their 184-page manuscript. I'd be happy to do this since editing is easy for me. Editing for content rather than proof-reading, anyway, which is what I assume this person wants. I just don't know how much to ask for since the pay is negotiable. After this entry I'll probably do some searching online and see what I can find....

Toodles!


I'm listening to a bizarre mix I made by putting "Istanbul" into Kazaa and downloading at random
I'm reading Nightmare on Main Street: Angels, Sadomasochism, and the Culture of Gothic by Mark Edmundson
I want to take a shower, which I'll do shortly

<< >>
Previous:
- - Thursday, Oct. 27, 2005
back yet again - Thursday, Aug. 04, 2005
Batman - Friday, Jun. 17, 2005
Just fucking around today - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
pre-birthday - Saturday, Apr. 30, 2005


Guero

Martini picture by Stormchild
Diaryland