Newest Entry Older Entries Diary Rings Guestbook Etc.

Five Questions Madness
Saturday, Jun. 14, 2003 at 2:44 p.m.


I've joined Five Questions Madness, and so can you! Felicezombie asked me five questions, which I'll answer below and in her guestbook. If you'd like five questions from me, just ask and then you can do the same.

1)you mentioned your job recently. What is the nature of the work that you do? How long have you been doing it?

I'm the student assistant for the Linguistics Department at Wayne State. I'm basically a secretary and go-for, but I also serve as the voice of the department since I'm the one who responds to the main phone number and email address. I'm coming up on my first year and have to say that I love working there. Beyond having time on the job to study (or goof off), the professors I work for are all very nice not to mention all being slightly warped.

2)You're an english major...what is your absolute favorite book, and why?

The only time in my life where I would have been in a position to answer this question was when I was a kid. I reread Judy Blume's Just as Long as We're Together about four times, but since them I've never had one book (or author or genre) that stood out over the others.

3)Okay, I gotta ask this...you've mentioned your romantic interests in the past. Is there a certain "type" of guy that you find yourself especially drawn to, either physically or intellectually/emotionally?

Well, I tend to have the guys that I'm physically attracted to and the (much rarer) guys that I'm emotionally attracted to. There's also a certain amount of overlap. My physical type is someone who's smart, mature (I tend to go for men in their late-twenties and up), have a sense of humor and it really helps if they're foreign. Men that I'm emotionally attracted to tend to have these things but also a quality which makes them seem non-threatening to me, and I'm not sure I've pinned down what exactly that quality is. I guess it helps if I can understand them to an extent and be able to trust them.

4)What's your biggest regret? And do you think having this regret has been a character building experience or is it something that you feel haunted by?

I don't have a single regret more than a lifetime of a few key issues which have affected all my decisions and actions thus-far. I wish that I hadn't spent so long running from my problems and turning off the world. I have to say that this was both a character building experience and a haunting one, though, since the only way to overcome my problems (or at least start to) has been going full steam through them. For whatever reason, I think it's genuinely taken me this long to finally build up the stamina for it, and I try not to second-guess myself on the timing.

5)How many people are in your family? Where are they? How do you get along with them now versus when you were a kid?

I have your classic, four-person family with an older brother. Until my brother was 17 and me 13 we drove each other absolutely insane, but at that age I think we finally both got over it and could start to relate to each other as rational human beings. I think our relationship only improves in time because we have a lot of the same problems and it's been difficult for us to watch the other being taken over by them. As for my parents, I've always felt close to them but our relationship has improved over the years as I've wanted to be more and more honest with them about my life. It was especially hard for my father when I was a teenager because he was always sort of over-emotional as far as I was concerned and it made me not want to talk to him. I definitely appreciate him more now that I'm older.


I'm listening to Beck MP3s (currently Dirty Dirty)
I'm reading old .doc files on my harddrive
I want nowhere yet

<< >>
Previous:
- - Thursday, Oct. 27, 2005
back yet again - Thursday, Aug. 04, 2005
Batman - Friday, Jun. 17, 2005
Just fucking around today - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
pre-birthday - Saturday, Apr. 30, 2005


Guero

Martini picture by Stormchild
Diaryland