Newest Entry Older Entries Diary Rings Guestbook Etc.

A slow ride into graduation
Tuesday, Mar. 22, 2005 at 2:48 PM


It occurred to me as I was writing my last entry that I only write in this diary if I'm really happy or really upset. I'm sure I come off as completely bi-polar but that's only because I don't write about all the mundane things that happen in my life in between the extremes.

I did get everything done that I wanted to and had a wonderful time in NYC. The paper I wrote for my globalization class could have been a lot better if I'd had more time to edit, but was certainly passable. I'll be interested to see what kind of grade my professor has given me, though, since I have no idea how forgiving he is!

This week, by some cruel joke of nature, I have a sore throat and have been getting headaches. I've been drinking water and hot tea at home and at work (where I am right now, BTW) and can only hope for the best. My new ATM card, name correctly spelled this time, was waiting for me when I got back from my trip but I'm still waiting on the PIN. Once I've gotten that and I've found a new laundromat my life should be back to normal.

Strangely enough, since Wayne State now lets you register for classes so far in advance I've registered for all my classes up until I graduate. Over the summer I'm taking Spanish 1020, Geology for my gen-ed and American Lit Survey, and in the fall I'll take Spanish 2010, a gen-ed History and my writing intensive in English.

The English Department has you write a 20-page capstone paper, usually in conjunction with the senior seminar class. I realized too late that you can do this paper in any 5000-level class, which means that I could be working on it in my Globalization class right now! The two senior seminars offered in the fall didn't look very interesting to me and there isn't anything that would work over the summer, so I had about given up when I noticed a class in the fall that looked interesting. It's with a new hire in the department, who I'll definitely want to get the gossip on, but it's another class on globalization! "Food and Globalization" specifically, which should be interesting.

Now all I have to do is figure out which grad schools I might want to attend (aside from Penn State) and if I need both the GRE Subject Test and the General Test to apply to them.

In the meantime, life is good! I cleaned my room, miracle of miracles, and my shoes are a thing of beauty they're so well organized. The 45 degree weather is an absolute dream, aside from the fact that the change in weather might be why I'm sick now. I actually went out in an army jacket instead of my calf-length, wool coat today! Now, if only I was getting more action date-wise I'd be set. It has been way, waaaaayyyyyyyy too long. Read into that what you will.


I'm listening to Who songs endlessly repeat in my head
I'm reading Pattern Recognition by William Gibson. Finished it Sunday.
I want this freaking cold to go away! So not fair!

<< >>
Previous:
- - Thursday, Oct. 27, 2005
back yet again - Thursday, Aug. 04, 2005
Batman - Friday, Jun. 17, 2005
Just fucking around today - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
pre-birthday - Saturday, Apr. 30, 2005


Guero

Martini picture by Stormchild
Diaryland