Newest Entry Older Entries Diary Rings Guestbook Etc.

New York and "the girls"
Saturday, Jan. 29, 2005 at 5:46 PM


Well, it's been an uneventful day of sitting on my ass and drinking cup after cup of coffee in attempt to wake myself up from my stupor. Not that I should complain since this is my own doing, but I think I'll invent some reason to leave the apartment later. At the very least I should go to CVS to pick up some more deep conditioner and cocoa butter (the most fantastic moisturizer ever invented). In the meantime I promised Kelly I'd vacuum and I sure as hell haven't gotten to it yet.

Speaking of Kelly, I've convinced her to take my parents up on their offer of airfare and she's coming with me to visit them in New York this spring break! My and my mom are trying to come up with things to do that kill several birds with one stone. Kelly wants to see the Statue of Liberty and my mom suggested the water taxi which will take you all the way around lower Manhattan for $5. There's a trolley tour of Central Park which is fantastic, but I'm not sure if it will be running in the winter. If it's warm enough we can walk around but we won't be able to cover as much ground. Ah, well!

We definitely have to hit MOMA, newly reopened, plus my mom volunteers there and can get us in for free. I'll see if she wants to go to the Met (she should at least see the entrance), the Guggenheim or anything else in particular. We'll definitely wind up walking around the Village since my Mom's friend Norma Jean lives there and we always see her, plus Soho isn't that far away from there. And, there's always China Town. My mom tells me they've just installed an information booth!

In the meantime I've got plenty of things to keep me busy. Work is still busy but I'm keeping things under control and I'm still enjoying my classes. I used up a bunch of freebie absences in my Spanish class because I was sick last week and also missed a day of mythology. We have our first test in there on Monday and I'm actually a bit worried since I'm not sure if he covers things in his lectures that aren't in our book. Worse comes to worse I'll do so-so on this exam and then raise my grade later. I'm shooting for another 4.0 this semester, so we'll see. Mythology won't be a problem but my Globalization class might be. I'm sure I can write two A papers (the papers being almost all of our grade) if I give myself enough time to work on them, and I'm determined to do so. Even my best papers I've written at what I consider to be the last minute, so now's the time to do something about that.

I've been hanging out with my fiction writing friends who I affectionately refer to as "the girls." When I think about it we're sort of a motley group but we all really get along. Plus, I'm determined to get to know one of their guy friends better. I met him about two months ago and he was the first guy in a while that gave me butterflies, plus he has the female friend seal of approval.

I should probably get going and vacuum the damn apartment. I wish I knew where the hell the clip to my iPod case is! Maybe I'll just stay in tonight and do some cleaning....




Edit: Found it! I'm the man.


I'm listening to Air - Walkie Talkie
I'm reading Zen Mind, Beginner's Mind by Shunryu Suzuki
I want me a man. That, and for my face to clear up a little.

<< >>
Previous:
- - Thursday, Oct. 27, 2005
back yet again - Thursday, Aug. 04, 2005
Batman - Friday, Jun. 17, 2005
Just fucking around today - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
pre-birthday - Saturday, Apr. 30, 2005


Guero

Martini picture by Stormchild
Diaryland