Newest Entry Older Entries Diary Rings Guestbook Etc.

Things are looking good
Sunday, Jan. 16, 2005 at 2:07 PM


Long time no type! I've had an eventful and fabulous two weeks. Something which I should mention straight off is that my brother totally splurged and got me a 20GB iPod for Christmas! Friday I made up a work out mix that will hopefully encourage me to start going to the gym twice a week, which will clearly be necessary for me to keep up with my current schedule. In addition to a lot of dance tracks and rock, I copied The Who's song The Seeker onto my computer specifically for this purpose. Anyone who's seen American Beauty will remember that it's the song that plays when Lester triumphantly jogs down the middle of the street, in the best shape of his life. There's a shuffle on iTunes so I can plug in my iPod and change up the track listing every time I work out. Now, all I need is a case that I can clip to my belt and I'll be set!

I started my job at the Humanities Center two weeks ago and started classes last Monday. The job is fantastic. I'll be in charge of several long-term projects, so it's definitely more work, but I'm really enjoying having as much responsibility as I do. My boss, the director of the Center, is really nice and great to work for. He's a bit scattered but between the two of us we have everything under control. He's really cute in a lot of ways, too. He calls me things like "young kid" and makes sure that I'm not overwhelmed, saying things like "everything is coming down on your little shoulders." I'll be especially happy when I get that first paycheck! I've never been anywhere near this well paid, something that a lot of people take for granted. Or at least they did before the current economic slump!

Like I said, classes started on Monday and I think I'll really enjoy them. Wonder of wonders, my Spanish 1010 GTA is actually cute! It's a nice pick-me-up at 10:40am four times a week. I can't remember if I've mentioned in this version of my diary that I've taken both Spanish 1010 and 1020 multiple times and never actually passed either of them. Rather than trying to study to get into a higher level I decided to take it easy on myself and start again from the beginning, actually learning the material this time. So far, I've been reading and doing the homework (which isn't even graded) every night. It's the polar opposite of how I usually work, which is why I think it's working. As long as I do my homework every day I don't get behind, and if I'm not behind at all I don't have the opportunity to really get behind! I have a Classical Mythology class that I'm unsure about because the textbook is so long and dense, but I'm very excited about a 5000-level English class I have on Globalization with a brilliant new hire to the department.

All in all, things are going really well! I'm currently broke because I hadn't balanced my checkbook and several checks went through at once, so I'll have to ask my parents for one last check before I can pay all my own bills. After that, though, it's all me baby!


I'm listening to my Work It All Out mix that I made on iTunes
I'm reading Mao II by Don DeLillo
I want this zit on my cheek to go away

<< >>
Previous:
- - Thursday, Oct. 27, 2005
back yet again - Thursday, Aug. 04, 2005
Batman - Friday, Jun. 17, 2005
Just fucking around today - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
pre-birthday - Saturday, Apr. 30, 2005


Guero

Martini picture by Stormchild
Diaryland