Newest Entry Older Entries Diary Rings Guestbook Etc.

Snow Day!
Thursday, Dec. 23, 2004 at 2:27 PM


I'm so proud of myself. I wrote a big, long list of things that I needed to do before I left to visit my parents in NYC tomorrow and I actually got all of them done!! No excuses, no "I'll do that once I get back," just full-on accomplishment. The one thing I wasn't able to do was work my last day at the Academic Senate.

I trudged all the way to campus through the five inches of snow that fell last night only to realize that that University had been shut down due to the weather. I emailed my supervisor and the committee chair that I still owe two sets of minutes to (which I was planning on doing today) about coming in to work a day after the break. As long as they tell payroll I worked the hours before the 24th, when I said I'd be leaving, I can still be paid. I have to admit that it's nice having all day to pack for my trip, though. That's the one thing I wasn't able to do yesterday.

In other news, I just checked online and confirmed that I got a 4.0 this semester! Even though it was only two classes I've never gotten straight A's in a semester and it feels pretty damn good. I'm going full-steam ahead in my degree, three classes and 20-hours-per-week at a great-paying job next semester. For a while I was freaking out about the workload but now I'm looking forward to it. It's sort of like jogging. When I feel this need to start running faster than the treadmill I bump up the speed, not the other way around. These last couple of weeks I've been totally bored since there was so little to do for my classes. Even though Urban Studies was interesting it wasn't exactly intellectually challenging, or maybe I just didn't feel the need to be challenged by it. I was mostly focused on grades and the status quo this last semester but now I'm ready to push myself a little harder.

But first, a vacation. Why look a gift-horse in the mouth?


I'm listening to Kelly's christmas MP3s
I'm reading The Silmirillian by J.R.R. Tolkein
I want the bottom of my pants to dry

<< >>
Previous:
- - Thursday, Oct. 27, 2005
back yet again - Thursday, Aug. 04, 2005
Batman - Friday, Jun. 17, 2005
Just fucking around today - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
pre-birthday - Saturday, Apr. 30, 2005


Guero

Martini picture by Stormchild
Diaryland