Newest Entry Older Entries Diary Rings Guestbook Etc.

Home from work
Monday, Dec. 13, 2004 at 1:32 PM


I'm staying home from work today because I have some sort of stomach thing happening and want to make sure it's out of my system by the time I go take my Urban Studies final at 6:00. I can definitely use the extra study time but is it worth it? Hell no.

I'm convinced that everything in my life that's not going well could be fixed by my getting more exercise. I've been a bit depressed, have super-low energy and been sleeping a lot, and just can't seem to get motivated about anything that's not absolutely necessary. I'm sure I'd look and feel a lot healthier if I was jogging again but it's difficult, especially now that the weather has turned. I think that will be my New Year's resolution, to get serious about exercising. In the meantime I'm going to go the the gym this week, and am toying with the idea of going every day after work starting tomorrow. I could use the kick start and I'd only lift weights two out of the four trips. It doesn't take that long to hit the treadmill for half-an-hour and the last time I went I jogged the fastest I ever have, 4.4, for close to a mile. It's cool, even when I haven't gone for a few weeks I'm still able to increase my speed or distance. That's a real motivator, but the hard part will be getting myself to go in the first place when being out of shape has zapped my energy!

I applied for a new job at Wayne and am still waiting to hear back. I had no intention of leaving my current job until I saw a posting for a position that pays $11 an hour! It's 15-20 hours a week instead of the guaranteed 20 I work now, but what cinched my applying was when I calculated that 15 hours at $11 would pay me slightly more than 20 hours at $8. I'm totally qualified and have good references, plus the person who is doing the hiring recognized me from my Linguistics job since he was part of the program. The only thing left to do is wait and see and if I don't get it, no big loss, I'm still set at the job I currently have.

Speaking of Linguistics, I went to their holiday party last Friday! I've been wanting to see everyone and it's finally been long enough since my ignominious departure that I had the guts to face them all. I'm really glad I did, especially since Pat (my old supervisor and favorite person there) had never received the email I sent a few months ago saying that we should get together for lunch. She's the only person there who I told about my depression and she was beyond supportive. Even though we don't talk very often I guess I really do consider her a friend and am looking forward to when we can sit down and talk one-on-one again. I met the woman who took my old job and even though it was obvious I left a total mess and that she was lost without anyone to train her, she didn't seem to hold it against me personally.

The weekend was a lot of fun, though it didn't do much for my sleep schedule. I'm sort of in a daze, waiting for the next semester to begin because I'm nervous about taking three classes and working and there's no real way to prepare myself for it.

Well, there is one thing. I can get used to going to the gym so I don't feel so out of control!


I'm listening to ..
I'm reading Siddhartha by Herman Hesse
I want my Urban Studies final to go well

<< >>
Previous:
- - Thursday, Oct. 27, 2005
back yet again - Thursday, Aug. 04, 2005
Batman - Friday, Jun. 17, 2005
Just fucking around today - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
pre-birthday - Saturday, Apr. 30, 2005


Guero

Martini picture by Stormchild
Diaryland