Newest Entry Older Entries Diary Rings Guestbook Etc.

Killing some time while my hair dries
Saturday, Nov. 20, 2004 at 2:48 PM


I have two back paychecks to deposit and tried to go to my bank branch in Dearborn that's open until 1:00pm on Saturdays. Dearborn's main drag is Michigan Ave, which is also known as US-12. I wish I had known that, because as I was nearing the end of my fifteen-minute drive at 12:30 this afternoon I passed up a detour for US-12 and then noticed that the ramp to Michigan Ave was closed. I took the next exit and after skirting a gigantic Ford plant I took a road which I thought would be perpindicular to Michigan Ave and would still get me to the bank on time. By ten-to-one, though, I realized I was in Mexican Town.

I'm not sure how geographically far apart these two places are for you non-Detroiters, but when you're trying to hit a middle-eastern city outside Detroit and wind up in a Hispanic neighborhood within the city, something ain't right!

I came home, hopped online, and figured out that there are two bank branches that stay open until 4:00pm on Saturdays and are actually open a few hours on Sundays too, which is good to know. I showered, dressed up in my levi's, a striped blouse, brown cashmere sweater and boots and will head over to Somerset Mall after I've deposited my checks. I have a coupon for a free Estee Lauder perfume from Lucky Magazine and another for a free Bath & Body Works lip gloss from Cosmopolitan, so hopefully that will take care of my shopping jag. I'm waiting for my hair to dry because I'm in the mood to actually get good service at the ritzy mall and that takes looking nice. After that I think I'm going to pick up a few pairs of tights at Target so I can wear my skirts this winter.

Time to hit it, I guess. I don't want to miss two different banks on the same day!


I'm listening to my Sex and the City mix
I'm reading The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
I want this goddamned, piece of shit cold to go away so I can get into the gym and loose some of this extra poundage

<< >>
Previous:
- - Thursday, Oct. 27, 2005
back yet again - Thursday, Aug. 04, 2005
Batman - Friday, Jun. 17, 2005
Just fucking around today - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
pre-birthday - Saturday, Apr. 30, 2005


Guero

Martini picture by Stormchild
Diaryland