Newest Entry Older Entries Diary Rings Guestbook Etc.

Halloween in the Twilight Zone
Sunday, Oct. 31, 2004 at 1:09 PM


I thought I was going to write a long, triumphant entry about how cool my Halloween was and how much fun I had dancing all night at a hot club.

That wasn't exactly how it happened, though.

I went ahead with my Satine outfit. Bottom to top, I wore my new patent leather pumps, fishnet stockings, a garter belt I bought from Frederick's of Hollywood on clearance, my silver dress, opera gloves and Kelly's top-hat.

I think it came out pretty hot....

Kelly's costume was awesome too.

We were two hot chicks going to what we thought was a hot club playing electronic music. Now, if you saw an ad that said "3 LEVELS / 3 DJ'S", wouldn't you think that meant there was a DJ on each level? Not only was there only ONE level open (I only saw one other, which was basically just a balcony over the first level, and it was VIP only) but there was only ONE DJ. That was actually fine because he was spinning awesome electronic music, but since everyone there was more interested in grinding in their sparkly underwear and dancing on the bar to top 40s hip-hop his sets became increasingly short. The first was about half-an-hour, the next about twenty minutes, then fifteen and, I swear to god, the last set we stayed for was no longer than five fucking minutes! At 1:30 we gave up. After all, we'd spent $20 cover and drinks were $7 a pop! This was bullshit.

After a brief stop at home we went to Third Street Saloon. They had karaoke hosted by a drag queen in sequins, which was fun. After a few songs, though, we realized that everyone there seemed to already know each other. We stayed until last call, got free jello shots since the women holding the tray took pity on the fact that we didn't have the dollar it cost to buy two, and tried to leave.

I say tried because there was a loud argument, including shoving, breaking out in front of the door. We stayed just long enough for a loud, belligerent drunk to storm across the bar and accost a cute, young guy in a toga, shoving him and knocking the drink from his hand. I have no idea what the fuck it was about but they obviously knew each other.

When I got home it felt amazing to scrape all the crap off my face and change into pajamas. I'm happy to say that today will go much better. Me and Kelly are going to a friend's parents' "casual get-together" and I get to wear my second costume of the year, Lee Holloway from Secretary. I even bought myself a red pen!

Now, if only someone will have seen the movie and know why the hell I'm dressed in polka dots....


I'm listening to Kelly's Cabaret MP3s
I'm reading Men, Women, and Chainsaws: Gender in the Modern Horror Film by Carol J. Clover
I want at least one person to understand my costume tonight!

<< >>
Previous:
- - Thursday, Oct. 27, 2005
back yet again - Thursday, Aug. 04, 2005
Batman - Friday, Jun. 17, 2005
Just fucking around today - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
pre-birthday - Saturday, Apr. 30, 2005


Guero

Martini picture by Stormchild
Diaryland