Newest Entry Older Entries Diary Rings Guestbook Etc.

Classes start and then I get drunk at Dally. Connection?
Sunday, Sept. 12, 2004 at 12:24 PM


Life has been so full lately that I don't even know where to start! I guess I'll just go chronologically from the last entry.

I started classes on Tuesday. So far I've only had my Intro to Humanities class. The professor is a part-timer who mostly teaches at community colleges, and most of the students are 18-year-old Freshman, but none of that justifies how much she talks down to us. She called us "kids" one day and then corrected herself and said "students," but the mistake was telling. In these intro classes the professor usually takes attendance and counts it towards our grade but this is the first time I've ever had one ask us to sign in at the beginning of class and initial out at the end! Plus, there's a closed door policy. Three minutes after class begins she closes the door and locks it. None of this is as bad as what she said the first day of class. I can't remember what the context was but it really doesn't matter. She told us, "as the monkeys say, tough bananas."

I'm going to throttle this woman.

The other class is Monday evenings and starts tomorrow. This is with my Understanding Africa professor who's one of the most interesting people I've ever met in my life. I never got around to calling him since August was such a strange and hectic month, so I don't know if he's been diagnosed with skin cancer or not. I'm keeping my fingers crossed, though.

Along those lines, I've decided to start another kind of to-do list: correspondences. There's always about a half-dozen people that I've been meaning to call or email but haven't. I guess I'm used to having only a handful of very intense friendships, the kind of people you see every other day. When it comes to the people I really enjoy but don't see often it can be out of sight, out of mind, and I really want to break that habit. I'm way to old to be so selfish and lazy about my own friends!

I said I was going to go chronologically, so I should mention that mid-week me and Tiger officially broke up. There's no hard feelings (though I'm obviously not happy about it), and I'm really glad that I, (a) waited until I was ready to say goodbye before ending it and (b) had the chance to say everything I wanted to before he left. It sucks to be on the single market again. Cute men are easy to find but brilliant, funny ones? That's a little harder to recognize.

Yesterday was Dally in the Alley which was a mixed experience. The time I spent there was fantastic but I took three hours in the afternoon to decompress and sleep off the screwdriver I had drunk way too fast. I ran into my friend Sarah. We'd spent a couple of Dallys together but she'd gotten four hours of sleep the night before and not up to much socializing. I'm putting her on my list of people to call for a cup of coffee where we can actually talk and catch up. I've been running into her a lot but it's always at the bar where there's tons of people around.

I ran into another Sarah that I met about three years ago in my 3000-level fiction writing class. My email address has changed so I told her to look me up in the Wayne State directory. If she remembers my last name she should be able to find my email address, so I might hear from her.

The headliners at Dally were the Demolition Doll Rods. The only reason I'd ever heard of them is because they're some of the few tits that Cynthia Plaster Caster has ever cast. They were punk, high-energy, and exactly what my drunk-ass needed. I only stumbled around a little and dropped my coffee-thermos (or in this case, screwdriver container) once. Then I hung out on my front porch with my neighbors getting a contact high from their joint and enjoying a tray of these cinnamon, crepe-things that someone had bought for $5.

All in all, a good day, though I wish Kelly had been around for more than the first three hours. These outdoor festivals are always more fun with friends.


I'm listening to my Sex and the City mix
I'm reading The Hound of the Baskervilles
I want to get my shit straight, which is the plan for today

<< >>
Previous:
- - Thursday, Oct. 27, 2005
back yet again - Thursday, Aug. 04, 2005
Batman - Friday, Jun. 17, 2005
Just fucking around today - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
pre-birthday - Saturday, Apr. 30, 2005


Guero

Martini picture by Stormchild
Diaryland