Newest Entry Older Entries Diary Rings Guestbook Etc.

August is a-coming
Monday, Aug. 02, 2004 at 4:22 PM


August is here and boy, does this month ever look busy! The fun starts tomorrow with my last test of the semester in my Understanding Africa anthro class. I'm concerned about my professor because he had skin cancer two years ago and is waiting to hear the results of a biopsy he had done last week. I'm taking another of his classes in the fall, Intro to Urban Studies, and he's talked about making me a research assistant if the department will pay me. I hope his health holds out, and either way I'll be keeping in contact with him.

In the afternoon I have a job interview for a student assistant position at Wayne! I never heard back from the psychiatry department after four voicemails so I'm considering that a wash, but the Pharmacy Department called me two days after I emailed my resume. Except for the fact that I confused the secretary with someone from class and asked "what's up?" rather than "what is this regarding?" this looks pretty good. While my Linguistics job was $8 an hour at 12 hours per week, this would be $10 an hour for 20. I loved working within walking distance and felt more in touch with what was going on on campus working there, so this would be a real treat. Keep your fingers crossed!

On Thursday I leave for New York to visit my parents. They're just finishing up a major renovation on the apartment and of course I'm hitting the weekend that the floor's getting refinished. I'll be able to look around with my socks on, which is exciting, but we'll all be sleeping at a friend of the family's apartment two nights and another friend's out-of-town neighbor's apartment the rest. I think I'm going to take pictures this trip since I have so many friends who've never been to New York and I take it so much for granted.

I changed my ticket to stay an extra day because a distant relative of my parents' friend Susan invited us all out to Oak Island on the bay side of Long Island. The water should be warm and there will be lots of people there. Now that I go to New York often enough that it's not completely associated with shopping I've grown to associate it with food and drink. Or maybe that's just visiting my parents....

I get back on Monday and have my first of three Clay Aiken concerts on Thursday, the 12th. This one is at the Jackson County Fair, the next is the following Friday (the 20th) in Clio, Michigan, and the last in Dayton, Ohio, the Saturday after that (the 28th). The last one should be a lot of fun because me and Kelly are staying with Clay friends in Columbus. There will be ten of us crazy people there!

Then I'll have some downtime (hopefully spent WORKING SOMEWHERE PART TIME) until classes start on September 7th.

Tonight is the writing group. I have nothing to contribute except my smiling face and scintillating conversation and I'm damn satisfied with that.


I'm listening to Jamie Cullum -- Twentysomething
I'm reading Men, Women, and Chainsaws: Gender in the Modern Horror Film by Carol J. Clover
I want to get the job I'm interviewing for tomorrow

<< >>
Previous:
- - Thursday, Oct. 27, 2005
back yet again - Thursday, Aug. 04, 2005
Batman - Friday, Jun. 17, 2005
Just fucking around today - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
pre-birthday - Saturday, Apr. 30, 2005


Guero

Martini picture by Stormchild
Diaryland