Newest Entry Older Entries Diary Rings Guestbook Etc.

Moving Forwards
Friday, Jul. 02, 2004 at 1:51 PM


Hello, all! I'm done with my 8-week, accelerated history class and pulled out an A-! I'm really proud of myself, and this goes to my plan of getting all A's for the last third of my BA. Not to mention the fact that before last semester's fiction writing class, I hadn't successfully completed a class since the winter of 2003.

My transcript is sort of horrifying, but I guess I need to refresh my memory about what I need to take over again. Looks like I still need my American Lit Survey, which will be my fucking forth attempt! What a wonderful reputation I must have in the English Department. At least I know exactly what all my graduate school applications will sound like: I triumphed over severe anxiety problems coupled with cyclical depression and got all A's over the last third of my BA. Yey, me!

And this started as such a positive entry. Well, I pulled out that A- and everyone who knows me keeps reminding me that the fact that I finished the class was a huge accomplishment. I definitely need to hear that.

I did some really exciting math this week. I can now trust myself to finish the classes I sign up for, but since I hope to be working 20 hours a week I don't think I should take more than two classes a semester. For a while I thought I'd work up to three classes and eventually go full-time again, but once I thought about it realistically I realized how stupid is. Still, even if I only take two classes every semester and go to school in the summer, which I was planning to do anyway, I'll finish in two years! That means I'll finish up in July after I turn 26. I'm planning to go straight into my Masters and will be done with that by the time I'm thirty.

Suddenly, my worst case scenario doesn't look so bad, especially since there's finally an end in site! No matter how slowly I go I can count on finishing what I start and school is no longer this never-ending process where it feels like I'm actually moving backwards most of the time.

Everything else in my life is going really well, too. Things with Tiger are really great. Our relationship seems to be progressing forward and, in a way, that doesn't even matter to me because I'm so comfortable with him now. I dragged poor Kelly around with me for four hours of swimsuit shopping the other day and during our trek through the suburbs I turned to her and said in a sappy, jokey voice, "I really like him!" She started cracking up and responded, "Well, that's a good thing because you'd be wasting a lot of time if you didn't." And I never thought I'd be the type of girl who would spend most of her time with her guy. No wonder it took me so long to find someone I could stand! I would have gutted a lesser man by now.

Still looking for a fucking job. I'm really excited about this clerical job at the Psychiatry Department at Wayne. From what I can tell it's the equivalent of my old Linguistics job in a different department, only it's 20 hours-a-week at $11.00 and hour as opposed to 12 hours-a-week at $8.00. Big fucking difference, and I think I'm qualified for it. They advertised in the Detroit Free Press, looking for anyone, and I have experience at this particular university. All I can do is keep my fingers crossed that the decision process gets started soon and that they look favorably on me.

Tonight's the Taste Fest where Electric Six is playing. I can't fucking wait!


I'm listening to my Sex and the City mix-CD (been a while)
I'm reading Men, Women, and Chainsaws: Gender in the Modern Horror Film by Carol J. Clover
I want the fucking Psychiatry job!

<< >>
Previous:
- - Thursday, Oct. 27, 2005
back yet again - Thursday, Aug. 04, 2005
Batman - Friday, Jun. 17, 2005
Just fucking around today - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
pre-birthday - Saturday, Apr. 30, 2005


Guero

Martini picture by Stormchild
Diaryland