Newest Entry Older Entries Diary Rings Guestbook Etc.

Pictures of my Room!
Friday, May. 28, 2004 at 4:47 PM


Well, me and Kelly painted my room a week-and-a-half ago! It was just in time for my parents to see a wonderfully decorated room filled with objects from their house as well as both sets of parents (and even a few from my father's grandmother).

Here's a few in process photos:

the tableau

The tableau.

what a friend!

What a friend!

the last little bit

I made Kelly leave the last little bit for me to do.

The rest of the pictures I took this morning. Some things are a little cluttered, but it's mostly exactly how I want it!

here's my bed

This is my bed, complete with two faux-fur pillows, a velvet pillow, and a red, satin with a picture of a 50s-style bra and the phrase "she was ready for anything." That's a tatami mat hanging on the wall as a surrogate headboard and there's a better picture of the poster here.

message area

I built the table here from two plastic milk crates and the tray from inside the metal trunk which sits under my window. Over that I put an old, leopard-print blanket that's a remnant from my grandpa Teddy's old coat-making factory in the garment district in New York. The dry-erase board is attached to the wall with velcro so I can take it off to write on if I so choose.

book shelves

This is the top of my bookshelves. The lamp was my mother's, the "head" is a hatblock that my great-grandmother Bessie used in Russia, covered with a pillbox hat I bought at a vintage store and a leather mask my Mom bought me. The pointy thing is the end of an antique umbrella which I think came from my grandma Mona.

top of the dresser

This is the top of my messy, techline dresser. Mirror by Target, candle snuffer on the wall by Party Lights (what a fucking scam), candles, jewelry and Gabrielle doll ala Xena: Warrior Princess. I had a big crush on Gabrielle in High School, I think because I was jealous of her long hair. Not to mention big tits.

incense stuff

Close-up where you can see my incense cauldron and straw-dispense with sticks in it.

my end table

Back to where we started! My end table really got my parents feeling nostalgic since the lamp was my grandma Clara's, the shawl I used to cover up my under-bed-drawers-come-end table was my grandma Mona's, and I didn't realize until they told me, but that wooden book holder was a wedding gift to my parents. The leopard print tissue box cover? All me baby! I saw one on House of Style in High School and had to have one.




I'm listening to my Sex and the City mix-CD
I'm reading nothing, finished that biography
I want for my studying for the History midterm to go smoothly

<< >>
Previous:
- - Thursday, Oct. 27, 2005
back yet again - Thursday, Aug. 04, 2005
Batman - Friday, Jun. 17, 2005
Just fucking around today - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
pre-birthday - Saturday, Apr. 30, 2005


Guero

Martini picture by Stormchild
Diaryland