Newest Entry Older Entries Diary Rings Guestbook Etc.

Ain't no Jews in the ghetto
Sunday, Dec. 21, 2003 at 7:22 p.m.


Long time no write! My Christmas/Hanukkah shopping is finished, I saw Lord of the Rings: Return of the King at 12:01am and cried my eyes out (fantastic movie), I've done my laundry and leave tomorrow to visit my parents and brother in NYC.

Kelly insisted that we light my menorah but, of course, I waited until the last minute to buy candles and couldn't find any. I went to the CVS in my neighborhood (which has an entire row of Christmas decorations, mind you) and asked for Hanukkah candles. The guy asked around and then pointed me towards their candle section on an endcap. Since the only thing there were huge columns I figured he didn't know what I had meant and said that Hanukkah candles are a specific size so that they fit into a menorah. He asked "what's a menorah?" and I knew I was in trouble. "The thing that Jews light at Hanukkah," I said and figured I'd just give up and miss the first night.

I had to go to a specialty food store that had a Jewish section and the candles were right there next to the matzo balls. What the fuck? The Walgreen's I stopped at had Hanukkah wrapping paper and no candles. At least the woman I had asked knew what I was talking about.

Kelly's promised to continue lighting the candles while I'm out of town. It takes a Christian to remember Hanukkah, I guess.


I'm listening to my Christmas Mix -- currently Christmas Blues by Dean Martin
I'm reading Glimmertrain
I want some company

<< >>
Previous:
- - Thursday, Oct. 27, 2005
back yet again - Thursday, Aug. 04, 2005
Batman - Friday, Jun. 17, 2005
Just fucking around today - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
pre-birthday - Saturday, Apr. 30, 2005


Guero

Martini picture by Stormchild
Diaryland