Newest Entry Older Entries Diary Rings Guestbook Etc.

"Wednesday's even worse, and Thursday's awful sad"
Thursday, Sept. 18, 2003 at 5:50 p.m.


It's been ages since I did a long entry. Despite the fact that I'm not sure where to start, now is as good a time as any.

School has been going well. I've only missed one class because I had slept all afternoon on the couch under the influence of my previously mentioned UTI. I finally went to the doctor Monday and am on a course of antibiotics. I've been lax on practicing my T'ai Chi this week and can definitely feel it. It took the entire weekend to heal after working my quads so much in class Friday, but Monday on I haven't had much of an excuse. I've been trying to eat better by cooking, rather than hitting fast-food joints. My specialty as of late is white rice with frozen vegetables mixed in, topped with soy sauce. Not exactly glamorous, but still nutritious and home-made.

I'm still waiting to hear from my professor about doing directed study with her this semester. I have her phone number in England, but beyond not wanting to make the international call I always feel like a yutz asking things from her. This feels like a favor, even though it isn't really. After all, teaching is her job and the worst thing that could happen is that she says no. I'll probably give her a few more days before I call, to psych myself up if anything else.

Other than all that, I've been really enjoying myself! I hit the Detroit Festival of the Arts on Friday night and the Renaissance Festival pretty much all day Sunday. Along with walking around in my renaissancey top, flowing skirt and long hair, I bought a beautiful moonstone bracelet and a white rabbitfur scarf which only cost me $35! I've wanted one for a while but they cost $50 easy when you're shopping at the mall. Now that the festival is over, though, I'm really thinking about getting a haircut. Nothing super drastic, just a few inches to get rid of the tangles and maybe some layers around my face. Even with accidentally darkening my hair with what was supposed to be temporary dye I'm starting to get bored with it.

Another pursuit that has been filling my time is Legend of the Red Dragon (or LORD), an old, text-based BBS game. I found an ongoing game and am up to level 9, despite the fact that I've been killed during forest fights for the last three days in a row. I finally listened to the bootleg of The Flaming Lips show where they sing me happy birthday, then actually labeled all the tracks with Musicmatch Jukebox. While I was in the middle of this my roommate asked my opinion about which was a better desktop photo. After answering, I said that "our anal retention knows no bounds." I also created a sound for her secrets page, at the bottom of her diary, thereby distracting her from her studying for at least an hour. I did feel guilty about that, but just couldn't wait until she was finished to show it to her!

Still seeing the guy I'm seeing. Ran into an old friend today in my professor's office and made a date with her. Plan to do some cleaning on Saturday and hopefully some food shopping as well. Truthfully, I'm not in a fantastic mood, though I'm not really sure why. The important thing is that I'm still moving. Tomorrow: work, T'ai Chi. Tonight? Maybe Borders for some Flaming Lips CDs. I only have a CD-R of The Soft Bulletin which I got off the internet when I couldn't find a real copy and want to get Clouds Taste Metallic as well. I'd also love some Victor Jara, but doubt I'll find an album.

Why so blah? Time to up and go somewhere.


I'm listening to The Flaming Lips -- Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots
I'm reading One Small Saga by Bobbie Louise Hawkins
I want to class, then to the professor's office to discuss possible term-papers

<< >>
Previous:
- - Thursday, Oct. 27, 2005
back yet again - Thursday, Aug. 04, 2005
Batman - Friday, Jun. 17, 2005
Just fucking around today - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
pre-birthday - Saturday, Apr. 30, 2005


Guero

Martini picture by Stormchild
Diaryland