Newest Entry Older Entries Diary Rings Guestbook Etc.

Israel and Idols
Wednesday, Jul. 09, 2003 at 6:09 p.m.


The car is fixed! It only took until TUESDAY FUCKING MORNING, but the thing is fixed and the guys at Midas installed the battery for free. Not only is the battery for a 2000 Neon incredibly expensive (not to mention heavy), they're also rare. It took until Monday evening for my Franklin dealership to pick one up and roommate was at work at that point, leaving me stranded. We actually left the house at 9:20am on Tuesday, with which the hours we keep was absolutely amazing and downright painful.

To top it all off, I developed a problem not limited to the female sex but most commonly associate with them. Not fun, but I got my doctor to call in a prescription for antibiotics without seeing me since I still had no car. Car battery and antibiotics in hand, I am now in a much better mood!

I got an email from a former professor who recommended a bunch of books and authors about Israel and the Middle East and I went to Borders yesterday to check them out. I hadn't intended to buy so much but all the books looked good and I'm really interested in the subject. Borders is having a buy 4 get the 5th free sale, so I guess it was fate. I bought Pity the Nation: The Abduction of Lebanon by Robert Fisk, The Iron Wall: Israel and the Arab World by Avi Shlaim, Politicide: Ariel Sharon's War Against the Palestinians by Baruch Kimmerling and One Palestine, Complete: Jews and Arabs Under the British Mandate and Elvis and Jerusalem: Post-Zionism and the Americanization of Israel by Tom Segev. I don't know how much I'll get through before my trip but I can bring one or two things along. My question is, do I really want to bring the anti-Sharon book and be carrying it around? My cousin Galia is part of the Peace Now Movement so she'll approve, but I don't know what the current political climate is like. I'll have to ask my Mom and brother when they get back. They're in Israel now for my cousin Ronny's wedding (Galia's son).

Well, Kelly's home and we have to go make posters for her trip to the American Idol concert. Ta-Ta!


I'm listening to Clay Aiken MP3s (with Deadweight by Beck in the mix)
I'm reading Islam by Karen Armstrong
I want to work

<< >>
Previous:
- - Thursday, Oct. 27, 2005
back yet again - Thursday, Aug. 04, 2005
Batman - Friday, Jun. 17, 2005
Just fucking around today - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
pre-birthday - Saturday, Apr. 30, 2005


Guero

Martini picture by Stormchild
Diaryland