Newest Entry Older Entries Diary Rings Guestbook Etc.

Screwing Off @ the Grad Library
Tuesday, Jun. 03, 2003 at 5:10 p.m.


I'm sitting at a computer in the graduate library feeling like a schlub since I'm surounded by people doing actual work. Meanwhile, I am not working, and especially not reading the 100-or-so back pages from my Humanities textbook that I would like to get through this week. All things considered I could probably skim them, make sure I can fill out the study guide and be done with it, but I'd like to at least attempt to be thorough.

I don't think I mentioned that I absolutely love my Understanding Africa professor, and this time strictly for his teaching skills! He's spent 16 years living on the continant and, so we wouldn't have to pay royalties on our coursepack, asked the authors of the texts if they'd mind us using them since they're his personal friends. It would be fantastic if I could met them somehow. I know that I'm interested in going into colonial/post-colonial studies in English, I just have to figure out the where and when. The Ottoman Empire is really hot right now, which makes me want to look into Northern (ie: Islamic) Africa or someplace else where there won't be as much competition academically. Hey, I could spend my career digging through libraries in Morocco and Tunisia! Just as long as I don't wind up like one of my profs who was kicked out of the States when Reagan took office for teaching in Libya.... Better to learn from his mistakes, I guess.

On a totally different note, my hair will be black for the next month. My roommate bleached her hair blond and I was, well, jealous. Ordinarily I don't do such extreem things to my hair since I've been growing it out for about the last five years and am a bit protective but I figured, what's one month? It looks like I'm the new poster child for the English Department, though (heh, all it takes is five years of being in the program without matriculating to learn the ropes), and will be featured in the Alumni newsletter for going on study trips to Istanbul and Devon, England in the last year. Also featured will be a picture of me, featuring my new black hair. Hmmm, the undergrad advisor insists that it looks very scholarly, since I had it back today. Maybe I'll try this up-do that Maggie Gyllenhall wore in The Secretary that I really liked. That seems strangely appropriate, actually.

Very professional.... Heh-heh!


I'm listening to the sound of people typing
I'm reading my Humanities textbook
I want class, work

<< >>
Previous:
- - Thursday, Oct. 27, 2005
back yet again - Thursday, Aug. 04, 2005
Batman - Friday, Jun. 17, 2005
Just fucking around today - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
pre-birthday - Saturday, Apr. 30, 2005


Guero

Martini picture by Stormchild
Diaryland